Karla Rodriguez-Sandher

Job title: 
L&S College Adviser
Arts & Humanities

Title: L&S College Adviser


Arts and Humanities

Make an appointment:

To make a virtual appointment with this adviser, book here.

Joined the office in:
January 2023


BA, Sociology, University of California, Irvine

M.Ed., Postsecondary Administration and Student Affairs, University of Southern California 

How did you get here?
As a first-generation college graduate I knew that I wanted to work with underrepresented students after college. After undergrad, I worked in the college access space in Oakland for 6 years. Working with high school students supporting them through the college application process. Through this experience, I saw so many of my former students leaving their colleges after a year or even a semester. This sparked my interest in being in the higher-education space to support college students through their higher-ed journeys. Representation also matters to me and I wanted to represent students from similar backgrounds to mine. I decided to go to graduate school and get a master’s degree in higher education. After graduate school and before L&S, I worked at a non-profit organization in Oakland where I supported first and second year college students as they navigated their time in college. I really wanted to work with a more diverse group of students which is what led me to Berkeley.

What advice do you have for L&S students in general?
Make the most out of your college experience, it’s a challenging journey but it is also a memorable one as you explore who you are, your why, your interest as well as what you don’t love. Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone and try new things, you never know where that may lead you. Most importantly, embrace who you are and show up authentically in any space you are in.

A little more about me:
I grew up in Oakland, CA. I am passionate about fashion and interior design. Things I find joy in: I love the ocean - I find peace and serenity here, I love a sunny Summer day, I love spending time with family and friends, I love eating/trying new foods and I love a good laugh.